Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014 Spotlight: Derrick Brooks

By Niala Samnarine

March 18, 2014

One of the most exclusive sport Hall of Fames, the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, has only 280 members inducted to date. With the newest class being enshrined in August, 2014, let’s take a closer look at these exemplary players.

See Aeneas Williams Spotlight>>>

See Ray Guy Spotlight>>>

See Claude Humphrey Spotlight>>>

See Walter Jones Spotlight>>>

Next up is former linebacker, and Super Bowl champion Derrick Brooks. Like his fellow enshrinees and the other members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Brooks' career is full of amazing accomplishments. Read on to learn more about our spotlight inductee!

Fun Facts

  • Brooks was selected 28th overall in the 1995 NFL Draft
  • In 2002, he was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year
  • He is tied for the most touchdowns by a LB with Bobby Bell at six each
  • He was selected to 10 straight Pro Bowls (11 in total) and was the Pro Bowl MVP in 2005
  • Brooks played for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and is regarded as one of the best (if not the best) player in the franchise’s history

Career Highlights

After being drafted, Brooks started in 221 of 224 games from 1995-2008. In his first year, he played 13 games and earned first team all-rookie honors. In his second year, he led his team in tackles while recording his first career interception. Brooks earned his first trip to the Pro Bowl the year after.

Throughout his storied career Brooks recorded a total of 1,715 tackles, 13.5 quarterback sacks, 25 interceptions, and seven touchdowns. Brooks is one of only six players in NFL history to make the Pro Bowl, be named Defensive Player of the Year and win a Super Bowl. In the year he earned NFL Defensive Player of the Year, Brooks also had a record for a linebacker: four TDs - three off interceptions and one off a fumble!

In addition to being a spectacular football player, Brooks retired to become an ESPN analyst and partial owner of the Tampa Bay Storm. His charitable work and advocacy of education earned him the 2000 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

See Derrick Brooks Become Enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame!

Join Brooks, Ray Guy, Claude Humphrey, Walter Jones, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan, and Aeneas Williams, in Canton, OH, where they will be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

With NFL On Location and QuintEvents get your Official 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame Ticket Packages and get unparalleled access to all the official weekend events. With access to the Gold Jacket Ceremony, the Enshrinement Ceremony, ticket to the Hall of Fame Game between the Buffalo Bills and New York Giants, admission to the Hall of Fame, entrance to tailgate parties, optional hotel, transportation, souvenirs and so much more, Official Ticket Packages are the only way to experience the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame!

Learn more about Official Ticket Packages:

Official Platinum Plus Ticket Packages
Official Platinum Ticket Packages
Official Gold Ticket Packages
Official Bronze Ticket Packages
Official Single Day Ticket Packages

Will you be in Canton to watch as the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame gets enshrined?  

Start My Pro Football Hall of Fame Experience!